Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
Back to all news

Why IAAF rules require a rethink after steeplechaser’s disqualification

In this article for LawInSport, Lydia Banerjee discusses the IAAF rules.

French middle distance runner Mekhissi-Benabbad has been making headlines again for all the wrong reasons. Having previously found fame for fighting with his team mate on track andabusing mascots during meets; this time, while winning an emphatic victory in the 3000m steeplechase at the recent European Championships, he threw it all away by celebrating during the race.

Mekhissi-Benabbad was on the final straight, ahead by a comfortable margin, when he removed his vest, taking the final hurdle with it in his mouth. At the time, he was shown a yellow warning card (the same penalty a jubilant goal-scoring footballer receives for engaging in similar celebratory activities); but, subsequently, he was stripped of the gold medal and disqualified.
So, what exactly was the offence that Mekhissi-Benabbad committed?
Click here to read the full blog.
Related Members
Shortlist Updated